Buy traffic for your website

The 73rd Primetime Emmy Awards rolled out the red carpet on Sunday, celebrating some of television’s best.

Live with a limited audience on the Event Deck behind the Microsoft Theater in downtown Los Angeles, the award show kicked off with a performance by host Cedric the Entertainer, rapper LL Cool J, Rita Wilson and more. 

Canadian actor Seth Rogen kicked off the awards with a comedy routine before presenting the first award for supporting actress in a comedy series to Hannah Waddingham of Ted Lasso.

Saturday Night Live picked up the Emmy Award for outstanding variety sketch series, and Canadian producer Lorne Michaels paid tribute to fellow Canadian comedian and cast member Norm Macdonald, who died Tuesday at the age of 61 from leukemia.

Gillian Anderson won for outstanding supporting actress for a drama series for The Crown. (Gareth Cattermole/Getty Images)

Last year’s Emmy Awards were mostly virtual, and this year, organizers originally announced an indoor affair before the COVID-19 delta variant forced a majority of the event outdoors.

And while most stars made it to Los Angeles, the cast and producers of The Crown held their own ceremony remotely in London, U.K., similar to what Schitt’s Creek did in 2020 from Toronto.

Some awards were given out last weekend at the Creative Arts Emmys, where Schitt’s Creek‘s Dan Levy lost to Dave Chappelle for guest hosting Saturday Night Live in February.

Lorne Michaels, producer of Saturday Night Live, poses with his Emmy for outstanding variety sketch series at the 73rd PrimeTime Emmy Awards in Los Angeles on Sunday. (Rich Fury/Getty Images)

CBC News will be updating all major winners and categories throughout the evening:

Supporting Actress in a Comedy
Hannah Waddingham, Ted Lasso 

Supporting Actor in a Comedy
Brett Goldstein, Ted Lasso

Supporting Actress in a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Julianne Nicholson, Mare of Easttown

Supporting Actor in a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Evan Peters, Mare of Easttown

Writing for a Drama Series
Peter Morgan, The Crown

Directing for a Drama Series
Jessica Hobbs, The Crown

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Gillian Anderson, The Crown

Supporting Actor in a Drama Series 
Tobias Menzies, The Crown

Writing for a Variety Series
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

Variety Talk Series
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

Variety Sketch Series
Saturday Night Live

Writing for a Comedy Series 
Lucia Aniello, Paul W. Downs, Jen Statsky, Hacks

Directing for a Comedy Series 
Lucia Aniello, Hacks

Lead Actress In A Comedy Series
Jean Smart, Hacks

Lead Actor In A Comedy Series
Jason Sudeikis, Ted Lasso

Reality-Competition Program
RuPaul’s Drag Race 

Governors Award
Debbie Allen

Directing for a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Scott Frank, The Queen’s Gambit

Writing for a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Michaela Coel, I May Destroy You

Lead Actress in a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Kate Winslet, Mare of Easttown

Lead Actor in a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Ewan McGregor, Halston

Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Olivia Colman, The Crown

Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Josh O’Connor, The Crown

Variety Special (Live)
Stephen Colbert’s Election Night 2020: Democracy’s Last Stand Building Back America Great Again Better 2020

Variety Special (Pre-Recorded)

Comedy Series
Ted Lasso

Drama Series 
The Crown

Limited Series or Anthology Series
The Queen’s Gambit